Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

Military paid 14 teams to salute the troops.

Narcosys

I am disappointed in these teams and saddened by the fact that they would take money to do this.

http://insider.foxnews.com/2015/05/11/rpt-military-paid-nfl-teams-54m-salute-troops

I don't understand why this is looked down on. The military spends a lot of money on advertisement and publicity. Why is this different?

Honest question. I hope I'm not offending anyone's sensibilities...

I don't understand why this is looked down on. The military spends a lot of money on advertisement and publicity. Why is this different?

Because, until now, people (me) was under the impression that teams were doing it to honor the troops, not take money from them.

Oregon started doing this for the spring game under Chip. If it was for money, I'm very disappointed and think very differently about it.

As a veteran I have no issue with this. Heck, they spend millions sponsors racecars and in return, get free tickets to give away

I think it's because people think no one should be paid to salute the military.  They're fighting to protect their country (including those very football players) and the NFL teams are taking money for doing something they should already be doing. 

Because, until now, people (me) was under the impression that teams were doing it to honor the troops, not take money from them.

Oregon started doing this for the spring game under Chip. If it was for money, I'm very disappointed and think very differently about it.

I think it's because people think no one should be paid to salute the military.  They're fighting to protect their country (including those very football players) and the NFL teams are taking money for doing something they should already be doing.