Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

who gets spiller

Ingram reminds me WAY too much of Trent Richardson, no thank you. Spiller is a fast man, great on 3ed down at least. But I wouldn't throw money at a guy that can't stay healthy. We need a running back, a quality back that can stay on the field.

Spiller made no direct statement or reference that he had real interest in going to the Eagles.  He was asked the question last night on NFL Total Access on the heels of the Shady trade.  They said C.J. I guess the Eagles are in need of a running back now, do you think you'd be a good fit?  He said I've never been in that type of system, but I'm sure Chip knows my agents number if he's interested.

With Vareen as a free agent, I wouldn't be surprised if NE is interested in Spiller as his replacement. Spiller is a good receiver out of the backfield with balzing speed. To keep him healthy, NE would utilize him as their third down back like they did with Faulk and Vareen.

In five NFL seasons, he's only rushed for more than 1,000 yards once. 

On only 207 carries that year. If he can just give 175 carries (11 carries a game) and between 4.0 and 4.5 ypc that's 700 and 800 yards rushing another 300-500 receiving yards that's plenty enough in a rotational role added on with whatever our lead back gives us. lets say 220 carries at 4.5 ypc....(Probably wont happen but hey).......That's 990 yards then that's between 1700-1800 yards rushing (which would have put us between 14th best and 17 best rushing total yards last year in the league total) then that's plenty enough considering our passing attack will lead the way....That's only on 395 total carries which would have been good for 26th most in the league last year....I expect we rush for similar attempts last year...maybe a bit more depending on how our run game is going week to week......400-420 maybe