Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

Jurrell Casey gone from Tennessee!

PeterBowman

I understand his cap hit is a little high, but he's 30 years old and can still play.  And after the run they had in the playoffs, I'd imagine the Titans are in win-now mode, so getting rid of him doesn't fit in with that.  On top of it all, they only got a 7th rounder back for him.  Crazy

4 minutes ago, ColtJax said:

This is what happens with the salary cap. Good players are basically given away because they need that money for another position.

If they wanna pinch pennies, 4 years/$118 mil/$62 mil guaranteed to Tannehill was insane.  He played well for them, but almost $30 mil a year for a guy who doesn't even average 250 yards a game?

I'm also not a cap expert, but I imagine they could have restructured Casey's deal to save some cap money.

And if all that fails, they could still have gotten much better than a 7th round pick for him.

26 minutes ago, 21isSuperman said:

If they wanna pinch pennies, 4 years/$118 mil/$62 mil guaranteed to Tannehill was insane.  He played well for them, but almost $30 mil a year for a guy who doesn't even average 250 yards a game?

I'm also not a cap expert, but I imagine they could have restructured Casey's deal to save some cap money.

And if all that fails, they could still have gotten much better than a 7th round pick for him.

Exactly what I was thinking

32 minutes ago, Kyle said:

Simmons made Casey expendable.  I would guess this was done to free up money for a big signing coming soon.  Possibly Clowney to Tennessee

Definitely cap relief move-

Salary (moved)              Dead Cap                Cap savings

$13,387,500                   $3,200,000                $10,187,500

and his cap hit for both 2021 and 2022 was going to be 13.8+ million each year.

2 hours ago, 21isSuperman said: