Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

Fullbacks, Welcome To The Colts

DILLIGAFER

My question is, with the poor running game the colts had for years, why did it take so long for them to realize our RB needed a fullback to run behind? If your O line isnt creating holes, you need a full back to help. Seemed pretty simple to me. Why didnt they bring in a fullback sooner?

I've been wanting the Colts to use a Fullback for years on end now. The Colts running game is WAY to predictable. Even I can predict the Colts running plays 60-70% of the time and obviously I'm not a professional defense, so it's good to give the running back alittle extra protection. I would like to see them just become more diverse in general, but with Manning they really dont have to be.

I think it has to do with the no huddle. Peyton doesn't seem to enjoy having to change personnel that often, which becomes a problem with a fullback. Most blocking backs aren't that good at anything else and vice versa. I think someone who could block, catch, and maybe even run would have more use, though I still doubt it'd be much. LeRon McClain would have some potential, but I'd just prefer Mahaffey to block. Cody Johnson is an interesting prospect out of Texas, though he's never had to run block.

No issues here with using a fullback, but we actually averaged less YPC with a fullback on the field (4.6 v 3.7) this year. Also, there was no single game where we used a fullback more than 31% of the time. http://espn.go.com/b...se-of-fullbacks. It will be interesting to see what we do moving forward with Luck and/or Manning.

Some consideration has to be given to that fact that we posed no passing threat this year also.

Some consideration has to be given to that fact that we posed no passing threat this year also.