Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

Defjamz Mock 2.0/Post Combine(No FA)

I'm not good at the FA stuff so I'll leave that to someone else. But here is my 2nd draft. I based it on what Grigson said about the trenches. That's where you win. This is a trenches draft that not only gets you talented players, but at positions of need. I've seen what I needed to see at the combine and keeping in mind how Grigson drafts, this is what I came up with. The 1st round pick was the hardest.

Round 1- Carl Davis, DT/DE Iowa

I struggled for weeks on what lineman would be there at 29. I like Armstead but he won't get passed on. Phillips goes to Broncos, and Malcolm Brown is gone. Davis is BPA (based on how I see the 1st round playing out) and is a Grigson guy. You'll hear stuff like "questionable motor" and/or "disappears" thrown around at him, but that stuff is said about every 300+ pound player. The guy is a high character player who consistently gets into the back field. He's versatile since he can come in and play DE, or add 10 lbs and move to NT. I saw a combine interview he did and the guy he did it said he was impressed by his humbleness. http://ind.scout.com/story/1520788-wilson-s-word-who-made-an-impression?s=113

Round 2- Stephone Anthony, ILB Clemson

Isn't that a little early for Anthony? Yes and No. The ILB class is poor this year, and there aren't many guys who have high 1st round grades. Mostly because they all have different flaws, besides Kendricks who could go end of day 1. This guy is the complete package, but just raw. He's 6'3" and 240 lbs so size isn't an issue like with Perryman or Kendricks. If you watch his tape (FSU is a good example) you can see that he can cover, which is a biggie. He also ran a 4.56 at the Combine so he's got speed. If you want Anthony (which I think the Colts do) this is where you have to get him. Although I could be a round off.

Round 3- Tevin Coleman, RB Indiana