Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

Colt Overseas's Offseason Mock

This is my first time doing one of these so any feedback welcome. Thought I would do one of these mock offseasons, as I’ve been looking at prospects for a while now. Apologies if it appears long!

Starting 2018 Cap space: $79 million (Spotrac)

Resign:

Barkevious Mingo – 1 year – $2m 
Pierre Desir – 2 years – $6m, $4m guaranteed
Matt Jones – 1 year – $1m

Total Cap Space Remaining => $79m – $6m = $73m

Thoughts: OK, not a lot of players resigned. Injuries and performance mean Mewhort and Moncrief are not reliable for me and even for a prove it 1 year contract I would prefer we concentrate our resources elsewhere. It pains me to say this, but I would prefer if we let Vinny sign someplace else, I think we should look to develop a rookie kicker long term as Vinny probably won’t be around when our roster becomes legit SB contenders. I will discuss why Melvin was not resigned later. 

Free Agent signings:

Andrew Norwell (OG) - 5 years – $65m, $45m guaranteed: Don’t need to give this guy and introduction on these boards lol.
Trumaine Johnson (CB) - 4 years - $62m, $50m guaranteed: So this is the big decision, getting Josh Norman money. A top 10 corner imo, and one of the best zone corners in the game. Will discuss my reasoning for handing out a big contract later.
Allen Robinson (WR) – 1 year – $11m: Don’t see Robinson getting a lucrative long term deal with his injuries. This is a generous one year prove it deal. Ballard loves size and athleticism so Robinson is his ideal receiver. He’s got a great chance to have a 1,000 yard season here with Luck if he stays healthy.
Anthony Hitchens (LB) – 4 years $26m, $18m guaranteed: Rumours we are interested in him. Fits the middle inside linebacker position perfectly. Hitchens is a physical, quick and instinctive linebacker, exactly the type Ballard wants, as he said in his press conference this week.