Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

Mitch's Dream Offseason Scenario 2.0

Post-Combine/Pre-FA Edition.

Let me start by saying, I’m not a cap expert but I do know the process of how it works. I’ll try to put some contract #’s up that I expect players to get paid, but as we all know(especially with Grigs) who knows what these guys will command on the market. I’m going to start by solely worrying about Free Agency then I’ll move on to potential targets in the draft at our drafting positions(with one draft day trade).  This is what I believe gives us the best 53-roster we can get this year. I have made a few changes from the Pre-Combine edition I had and kept some things the same. Here we go:

Cap Space before Cuts: ~41 million

Cuts:

Greg Toler- +4.2 million

Samson Satele- +4 Million

I left Matt Hasselbeck off this list because I don’t see anyway that we cut him. I can get past paying for Matt. Cutting Matt only saves about 2 million anyways. RJF was another option but one I don’t see happening so why bother?

CAP SPACE UPDATED AFTER CUTS: ~ $49 million

Re-signings:

Vontae Davis- (4 yr, 35 million)

Pat McAfee- (4 year, 14 million)

Joe Reitz- (2 year, 1.5 million)

Josh Gordy-(1 year, 900,000)

Sergio Brown-(2 year, 2 million)

Adam Vinatieri-(2 year, 6 million)

Kavell Connor-(2 year, 3 million)

I think we get OL depth back with Reitz and solidify our kickers for the future. I really don’t want to pay so much for kicker/punter but I can get over it since they are both awesome dudes. I also think they both love Indy and will take a little less to stay. I really like Connor and hope he gets a chance to play more at ILB. He plays with a ton of energy and is great on special teams. Even if he is from Clemson haha.

Money Remaining: ~$32 Million

Biggest Needs(no particular order): CB, S, ILB, C, DE, PR/KR

Free Agent Signings:

Jarius Byrd- (4 year, 38 Million)

Evan Dietrich-Smith- (3 year, 10 million)

Brandon Browner-(1 year, 2 million)