Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

Evaluating Coaches

lennymoore24

I have always found it odd how head coach candidates are evaluated compared to players.  When a player is scouted, very little is thought of as the overall talent of the team around them.  It is all about their individual skills and how they project to the NFL.  But with a coach, it seems the hottest candidates are always coordinators of a top ranked unit.  For example, two names that come up wth year are Kyle Shanahan and Josh McDaniels.  Atlanta has been an offensive force this year.  But then you look at the talent they have.  Two very good running backs, three pretty good receivers, and an excellent QB.  McDaniels has Tom Brady and an offense that Belichick developed.  So I thought whoever is in NE as OC, they will be successful.  I know a big part is the interview, how organized they are, and their plans. I am actually a coach myself at a lower level of football.  But I think that is one reason so many coaches fail. Remember when GB had a great offensive season and Scott Philbin was a hot commody?  The list is endless of coordinators who didn't pan out for one reason or another.

I think they should develop a way at projecting coaches by grading the talent they have to work wtih.  For example, what is amazing about Belichick (as much as I hate the Pats), is he can take castaways from other teams and have them doing well within his system.  So the coaches that intrigue me more are coaches who get the most out of the talent they have.  For example, Chris Peterson from Washington and formerly of Boise State does a great job with limited talented.  So does Iowa's Kirk Ferenz.