Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

Jake Fromm is our guy

I had some down time so I spent the last few days studying the QBs who would likely be available to the Colts to draft.  Just to give some background, I am a coach and have coached for over a decade.  After analyzing the QBs, their supporting casts, and results, I believe the best QB the Colts could draft in their spot is Jake Fromm.  Fromm is probably the smartest QB, has a very quick release, reads defenses well, and is mobile enough to slide in the pocket.  He has played winning football despite losing many players around him.  The issue with guys like Jordan Love or Jacob Eason is it is very rare that a player comes to the NFL and learns how to be accurate.  So I would not want the Colts to go with either of them.  So my hope is if we draft a QB, Jake Fromm is the guy.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, lennymoore24 said:

After analyzing the QBs, their supporting casts, and results, I believe the best QB the Colts could draft in their spot is Jake Fromm.

You do realize Fromm has arguably the best OL in the nation, 5 star wideouts, and is possibly the worst passing QB of the group. He hasn't had a game where he's completed more than 50% of his passes since the beginning of November. No wonder Justin Fields got out and away as fast he could. Kirby playing this guy and then dedicating more to the run game says a lot about Fromm.

• Like 4

I doubt it, but who knows... he sure has his selling points and you pointed to some of them(very smart, reads defenses well, doesn't make mistakes, very good accuracy in the short to intermediate range). I disagree with your assessment of Fromm's pocket movement and Love's accuracy, though. I think out of the top tier guys this year Fromm's pocket presence and movement are clearly the worst and by some margin. He's a statue in the pocket and makes very little effort to try to navigate the pocket and avoid obvious rushers.