Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

Value of First Round WR's...?

So.....

We've had an on-going debate...   a number of fans here would like to see the Colts take a WR at pick 26.   They'd rather have a top WR than a DL who might be the 9th or 10th best DL in the class.      And some fans think there is real value with a 1st round WR.

I'm not one of them.

I've been posting for several years now articles on NFL.com talk about scouts saying there's no 1st round value in the most recent classes.   That the value mostly comes in RDs 2-5.     And scouts point to three problem area's for WR's coming out of college.

1.    They're not taught to run the full full route tree.

2.    They're not taught to read NFL defenses very well.

3.    They don't learn the complex language of a play.    The type of info you've heard from guys like Gruden and Mariucci when they put player on the white board to draw up a play.     What many WR's get for a play call,  is to look over on the sideline and see a big card with a picture of someone or something.     That's not done on the NFL level.

All of these add up to players who often aren't ready to contribute for their first few years while they learn on the job.

I'm going to list all the first round WR's taken in the last 7 years.    That's your most recent trend.    27 Wide Receivers have been taken in the first round.     11 have had a good level of success or more.   Some of that is open to some interpretation.    But 16 WR's can only be viewed as somewhere between a big disappointment to a bust.   Some are even out of the NFL altogether.    Remember this is just within the last 7 years.

2018:

24     DJ Moore           Car

26     Calvin Ridley    Atl

NOTES:  Two success stories.  

But note ONLY TWO WR's taken.

That's it.   Two.

2017:

5     Corey Davis     Tenn

7     Mike Williams   SD

9.    John Ross

NOTES:   Two success stories.

John Ross struggling badly his 

first two years.

2016: