Sign in to follow this  
ThorstenDenmark

2019 biggest need for the Colts

I have lately been studying the various stats on players and teams in the NFL, and to me It's a bit surprising that of the last 5 Super Bowl Champions, only 1 team have had a pass rusher in the top 10, regarding sacks, which was Denver Broncos and Von Miller. 

Of course it helps to have a sack machine, no one can argue against that, but those teams who have had a better secondary and players with 6+ int´s during a season, have been more succesful than teams with sacks. 

I know im no expert, and that some, or a lot of people have more insight than me, so don't judge me to hard on this post. And I know that turnovers is better than sacks, but when it comes to the Indianapolis Colts biggest need, from my perspective come draft time, then I would go for a stout CB, rather than a pass rusher. 

The upcoming draft in 2019, seems to be loaded with defensive playmakers, mainly DE's, DT's and LB's, but only a few 1 round CB's seems to be rated as playmakers. 

So should the colts be in a position due to a high draft pick, in the top 10-15 range, which seems to be the case as of right now, I would take the best CB available, rather than a DT or DE. 

Again, I'm no expert, but what is your take on this?

Go Colts  

A good pass rush makes the secondary look better, especially in a 4-3 zone based D.  But i do agree we need a couple of good CBs on D.  I also think we need a couple of legit WRs. I know that Cain looked good in the preseason, but i dont want to bank on him being the answer, since he is a rookie who will be coming off of a serious knee injury.

This draft is supposed to be loaded at DT and DE, and also not a bad draft at WR. Between free agency and the draft, we could add enough to this team to make a huge impact, as long as we hit on the players we sign/draft.