Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

Who would be better for us mcglinchey or Nelson?

I will be the first to admit that I am no expert on offensive line and blocking schemes and I rarely follow college football I'm just too busy. Anyways, in the beginning of the year all I heard was people on here saying we should draft mcglinchey and people were saying he was the best o line prospect  in a long time.   Now all I seem to hear is people saying we should draft Nelson. Who is the better player and what are their strengths?  Is one player better at pass blocking or run blocking?  Based on our needs, who do you see us drafting and if we decide to trade our pick,how far back could we go back and still get one of the two? Would there be any way we could get both?  Thanks in advance!

Nelson, hands down.

What I don't understand is why some, not all, on this forum continue to lobby, wish, and hope for another positional player at 3-6 in first round over seemingly the best guard in the draft as of now. 

I get the old additive of not taking a guard so high, however the number 1 priority with this team has to be the Offensive Line, especially considering the amount of sacks and QB pressures and lack of running lanes this team has had last few years. YOU TAKE THE GUARD hands down and don't look back.

The skins took sheriff a couple years ago and it worked out just fine.

I personally would rather pass up on pass rushers who may or may not pan out then pass on a potential all pro for years to come on our line. 

The first question a new HC is going to ask is "what is the status of Luck?"

Second he is going ask what is the plan to protect him

the number one priority has to be fix the Oline.    For me I would like to see if it can be addressed in  FA 

either way Ballard will draft BPA 

3 minutes ago, DougDew said:

I really don't get the desire for a G in the top 5, or a burning need to replace AC with a rookie.  But I'm not a Notre Dame fan, so there's that.