Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

Violence of the Game

buccolts

With the concentration, and conversation, over the past few years, regarding making the game safer, the comment that fans watch Football, Hockey & Racing to see the big hits, collisions, etc. is bandied about quite a bit.

Makes me wonder: Is that your attraction to Football, or any other sport?

Me? No, absolutely not. Actually, I find fighting to take away from Hockey, and makes it boring.

In Football, I kinda cringe when there's a hit that you'd think would have hurt the recipient.

I'm amazed when the recipient is O.K., and I sometimes wonder why someone like James Harrison doesn't get fined more than he does, when he's obviously going for the knock out blow, as opposed to the tackle.

Have at it....

MODS: This is my first time posting a new thread, and just noticed that it ended up in the 'Colts' section.

Could it be moved to 'NFL General'?

Uh-Oh...... guess it's time for me to come clean.

Honestly:

Hockey: Only watch the Hockey fights on YouTube. Hockey bores me

Football: I enjoy watching our offense work. So poised & classy. But, I do enjoy watching the defensive players I like (P. Willis, B. Dawkins, B. Sanders, R. Lewis, Etc.) Dish out punishing hits. But at the same time, I do hope the player on the other end gets up fine. But people gotta understand that football is just naturally a violent game. Injuries will happen regardless of how "safe" they're claiming to make it. Look at Collie, they changed his helmet & he still got injured.

But that's just my opinion on this matter

What I like most, is what entertains me most

super human athletic ability and amazing plays

These guys can do things that normal people cannot

And winning close games

Adrenalin

Really not a fan of unnecessary violence.

I quite watching hockey years ago, I really hate the amped up violence in that sport.  And watching basketball players get into fist fights turns me off as well