Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

How suited is the current Colts offensive roster to the West Coast offense?

RomanianColtsFan

By now it has been confirmed by Pep Hamilton that Colts will run a variation of the West Coast offense next season. The question is, do the Colts have the players on current roster to run the new offensive schemes?  I am asking this question to you because I believe it is pertinent and may generate a nice discussion.

Obviously it is safe to assume that Luck, Fleener and Whalen that come from Stanford offense are capable, but what about the others? From what I read the receivers need to have good hands and run crisp routes. I believe Reggie fits that mold but what about the others?

What kind of offensive line players do the Colts need? Is there a particular blocking scheme that needs to be implemented?  

Since I am not a football expert, just a fan, I'll leave it to the people on this board that know a lot more than I do.

Great question.  I'm not 100% sure there is a definitive WCO anymore, it seems to be a bunch of hybrids.  But by the standard definition, I think we're very well suited.

Of course, no matter what offense we run, our O-line has to be upgraded.  I'll be interested to see what others think too.

like Smonroe said, I think our skills guys will be fine. I think it will be more on our line. We all knew it was going to be addressed this off season but you can take it to the bank it WILL be. on the Colts page he said “It’ll be a variation of the West Coast,” said Hamilton. “(It will have) the West Coast principles, the short, efficient passing game, a high completion rate.” and that he likes to pound the ball. but I have full confidense he will be airing it out as well.

http://www.colts.com/news/article-1/HAMILTON-IN-WITH-COLTS/6d5385d9-0c77-4083-abc0-478a383f3d31