Indianapolis Colts
Indianapolis Colts Fan Forum

Why is Poe so coveted?

I'm far from an expert and intricacies of how a 3-4 defense works or any other defense for that matter but I was looking at his stats especially his tackles and they seem extremely small. I've heard his role is to occupy blockers but if that's the case doesn't that make it pretty darn hard to judge exactly how effective he is on the field? I didn't check how his stats compare to other players at his position so maybe there is a huge difference but from what I saw wasn't exactly mind blowing. I'm probably wrong that's why I'm asking you experts on here :)

3 minutes ago, Majin Vegeta said:

Because he's a talented NT. 

and that Colts could really use one...Parry's good as a rotational NT but not a full time one.

And if Anderson and Langford can get back to form this year that could be a very formidable front.

Maybe Poe's asking price has turned a lot of GMs off, especially if he is angling for top DL salary.  Sure he isn't worth 12-15 per but he is easily worth 8-10 per depending on the guarantees.

It seems the market has cooled on him so hopefully he will revisit the Colts offer, even if it's only for a season.

NTs that can move as quickly and be as athletic as Poe are VERY rare. Usually that talent can mean a NT that can be an effective run-stopper and still offer potential pass-rush (which almost never happens with NTs where they can do both). Obviously, he has had injuries and has played WAYY too many plays compared to most NTs but the potential and talent is still there for him to get back to his rookie year. 

Still, a risk. One that I would be willing to take at the right contract. Though it is interesting why Ballard doesn't wanna give him the one year deal. 

1 minute ago, jameszeigler834 said:

I agree he is a lot more talented than guys we have had their the last 6 seasons.

That's not saying a lot.  Parry is serviceable.